GDPR is a very hot topic right now, but what does the shortcut GDPR stand for, what does GDPR contain and is your company affected by it? Why do companies have to fear fines of up to 20 million Euro if they don`t comply with GDPR guidelines?

It`s not easy to retain an overview of this «jungle», given almost daily updates and articles.

The European Data Protection Regulation (EU-DSGVO), also called General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) internationally, came into force in all EU member states on 25th May 2018.

Legally binding for companies domiciled in the EU, the regulation also concerns companies from third party countries – such as Switzerland. Simply put, the law dictates new and stricter rules on personal data to companies, government agencies as well as non-profit and other organisations – irrespectively of where they are domiciled worldwide, if:

1) They offer goods or services to customers in the EU or if

2) They track, gather or analyse the behaviour of EU-citizens

According to the new GPDR specifications personal data is classified as information referring to a specific or definable person; for instance a name, a photo, an email address, bank details, location details, medical information or a computer IP-address.

Imagine a Swiss company, a book store for example, who in addition to their city store also runs an online shop. Through this online shop customers from another European country order books. Therefore, the bookseller is required to oblige by GDPR Regulations and implement them accordingly.

The new Data Protection Regulation is complex. It comprises of 99 articles and 173 considerations. Put in highly simplified terms, the guideline defines the rights an individual has with regards to their personal data.

The right to disclosure 

Affected individuals may demand disclosure at any time within a short time frame as to whether data has been captured about them and what data for which purpose exactly. On request the company has to provide a copy of the personal data, free of charge and in an electronic format.

The right to erasure

WIf recorded personal data is no longer necessary for the originally intended purpose or if a person withdraws their consent to use their personal data, then the data has to be deleted immediately.

The right to data portability

Under certain circumstances affected individuals have the right to transfer their data from one provider to another ; for instance from one phone provider to another. The data transfer requires a standard and machine-readable format.

The right to be informed

At the time of data collection a company has to inform an affected individual comprehensively about which of their personal information are collected and saved for which purpose. A customer needs to be in the position to consciously decide on this including what kind of information are collected exactly.

The right to object

This describes the right of an individual to stop data processing for the purpose of direct marketing. There are no exceptions to this rule and any further processing is prohibited as soon as the request has been received.

What happens if companies don`t comply with these regulations?

In the future data protection of personal information will gain even more in importance. Companies who don`t comply with the new regulations can be punished with sanctions and fines. The maximum fine can amount to up to 20 million Euro or up to 4% of the overall word-wide annual turnover of the previous financial year, depending on which value is higher.

How can companies best prepare for GDPR?

Obtain information! What does data protection mean exactly? Which processes and procedures are affected? Get advice and support from specialists, who focus on topics such as data protection and information security.

We are happy to provide you with our « GDPR checklist » on request.

en_GBEnglish (UK)
de_DEDeutsch en_GBEnglish (UK)

Le "GDPR" est actuellement un sujet d'actualité. Que signifie l'abréviation, que contient le GDPR et votre entreprise en est-elle affectée ? Pourquoi les pénalités menacent-elles jusqu'à 20 millions d'euros, si les entreprises ne convertissent pas les défauts du PIBR ?

Il n'est pas facile de garder une trace dans la "jungle" des articles et des rapports qui paraissent presque quotidiennement.

Le 25 mai 2018, le règlement de base européen sur la protection des données (EU-DSGVO), General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) également connu internationalement sous le nom de GDPR, est entré en vigueur dans tous les États membres de l'UE.

Légalement contraignant pour les entreprises domiciliées dans l'UE, le règlement s'applique également aux entreprises de pays tiers - comme la Suisse. En termes simples, la loi impose des règles nouvelles et plus strictes en matière de données à caractère personnel aux entreprises, aux autorités publiques, aux organisations à but non lucratif et à d'autres organisations - quel que soit l'endroit du monde où elles sont basées, si elles le sont :

1) fournir des biens et des services à des personnes dans l'UE ou

2) observer, enregistrer et analyser le comportement des citoyens de l'UE

Selon les nouvelles spécifications du GDPR, les données personnelles sont des informations qui se réfèrent à une personne spécifique ou déterminable, par exemple un nom, une photo, une adresse e-mail, un compte bancaire, des coordonnées géographiques, des informations médicales ou une adresse IP informatique.

Imaginez une entreprise suisse, par exemple un libraire qui, en plus de son magasin au centre de n'importe quelle ville de Suisse, propose également une boutique en ligne. Les clients d'un autre pays européen commandent des livres via cette boutique en ligne. Le libraire est donc tenu de respecter les spécifications du GDPR et de les mettre en œuvre.

Le nouveau règlement de base sur la protection des données est complexe. Il contient 99 articles et 173 considérants. Là encore, en termes très simplifiés, la directive définit les droits d'une personne à l'égard de ses données à caractère personnel.

Le droit d'accès 

Les personnes concernées peuvent à tout moment et dans un bref délai demander à être informées si des données les concernant sont conservées, à quelles fins et dans quel but. Sur demande, l'entreprise doit fournir une copie des données personnelles, gratuitement et sous forme électronique.

Le droit d'être oublié

Si les données personnelles collectées ne sont plus nécessaires à la finalité initialement prévue ou si une personne spécifique retire son consentement à l'utilisation de ses données personnelles par une entreprise, elles doivent être effacées immédiatement.

Le droit à la transmission de données

Dans certaines circonstances, les personnes concernées ont le droit de voir leurs données transférées d'un fournisseur à un autre, par exemple d'un fournisseur téléphonique à un autre. Les données doivent être transférées dans un format commun et lisible par machine.

Le droit d'être informé

Au moment de la collecte des données, une entreprise doit fournir à la personne concernée des informations complètes sur les données qu'elle collecte et stocke à quelle fin. Un client doit être en mesure de prendre une décision consciente quant aux données qui seront collectées et à celles qui le seront.

Droit d'opposition

Cela inclut le droit des personnes de cesser le traitement des données à des fins de marketing direct. Il n'y a pas d'exception à cette règle et tout traitement ultérieur est interdit une fois la demande reçue.

Que se passe-t-il si les entreprises ne respectent pas ces lignes directrices ?

La protection des données personnelles deviendra encore plus importante à l'avenir. Les entreprises qui ne se conforment pas aux nouvelles exigences peuvent être punies de sanctions et d'amendes. L'amende maximale s'élèvera à 20 millions d'euros ou à 4 % du chiffre d'affaires annuel total mondial généré au cours de l'exercice financier précédent, le montant le plus élevé étant retenu.

Que peuvent faire les entreprises pour se préparer de manière optimale ?

Pour en savoir plus ! Que signifie exactement la protection des données ? Quels processus et procédures sont concernés ? Obtenez les conseils et le soutien de spécialistes qui se concentrent sur la protection des données et la sécurité de l'information.

Sur demande, nous vous enverrons volontiers notre "liste de contrôle GDPR".

fr_FRFrançais
de_DEDeutsch en_GBEnglish (UK) it_ITItaliano fr_FRFrançais